Lawton, Oklahoma Ban’s Dog Walking On Side walks

Lawton, Oklahoma City Counsel members voted to ban dogs from walking on side walks in city parks. Dogs no longer allowed on cement park paths

Lawton, OklahomaMayor and City Counsel Members

Mayor Fred L. Fitch
ffitch@cityof.lawton.ok.us
3/1/10 to 2013

Bill Shoemate – Ward 1
1726 NW 31st
Lawton, OK 73505
580-248-2042
shoematebill@yahoo.com
3/5/07 to 2013

Michael Tenis – Ward 2
1710 NW Cherry Ave
Lawton, OK 73507
580-704-7502
mtenis@sbcglobal.net

Rosemary Bellino-Hall – Ward 3
4202 SW Lee Blvd., Bldg A, Suite 100
Lawton, OK 73505
580-591-1130
rbellino-hall@cityof.lawton.ok.us
http://www.facebook.com/ward3rocks

Jay Burk – Ward 4
1415 NE Independence
Lawton, OK 73507
580-284-7578
jburk@cityof.lawton.ok.us

George Moses – Ward 5
101 NW Fort Sill Blvd.
Lawton, OK 73507
580-351-4385
gmoses@cityof.lawton.ok.us

Richard Zarle- Ward 6
207 SW Crystal Hill Dr
Lawton, OK 73505
580-536-1497
rzarle@cityof.lawton.ok.us

Stanley Haywood – Ward 7
3320 SW Salinas Dr
Lawton, OK 73501
580-355-6587
shaywood@cityof.lawton.ok.us

Doug Wells – Ward 8
1603 NW Horton Blvd
Lawton, OK 73505
580-574-8435
ccward8@msn.com

COL Paul Hossenlopp
Fort Sill Liaison
Taylor Hall, Room 120
580-442-3106
paul.hossenlopp@us.army.mil

The goal of the new ordinance is to keep dogs off the trails for safety reasons, avoiding possible collisions with bike riders and joggers. Dogs can be at the park, they just can’t be on concrete trails in the park, and some of the people we talked to said this ordinance doesn’t make sense.

Comments from people walking their dog in city parks said:
“They’re not protecting the citizens at all. I mean I don’t understand how that could make any difference over protecting anyone. If a dog’s off a leash at the park it’s not going to matter if he’s on the sidewalk or in the grass, it’s just something for them to write tickets for pretty much and give people a hard time.”

“I feel protected from dogs, I’m more worried about the people and what’s going on in town right now, than a dog.”

More Stupid Oklahoma Laws. The state won’t tolerate anyone taking a bite out of another person’s hamburger.
Whaling is illegal in Oklahoma.
Females are forbidden from doing their own hair without being licensed by the State?

About these ads

One response to “Lawton, Oklahoma Ban’s Dog Walking On Side walks

  1. Pingback: Tacoklahomayo and other adventures in Lawton! « lukeandmanda

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s